I Ching Meanings

A new translation of the Book of Changes

by The Master Therion

Scriptures 1-8
Scriptures 9-16
Scriptures 17-24
Scriptures 25-32
Scriptures 33-40
Scriptures 41-48
Scriptures 49-56
Scriptures 57-64


The Yi King is mathematical and philosophical in form. Its structure is cognate with that of the Qabalah; the actual apparatus is simple, and five minutes is sufficient to obtain a fairly detailed answer to any but the most obscure questions.
To Mega Therion


1. TAO concentrateth itself upon Kether as a point.

2. TAO directeth itself within Chokmah and becometh the Male Force. He is called YANG, and is symbolized by a Solid Line.

3. TAO expandeth in Binah and becometh the Female Force. She is called YIN, and is symbolized by a Broken Line.

4. These three: TAO, YANG and YIN, bring forth heaven and earth, and all contained therein.


0. TAO is the source of the Yi King, as of all.

1. Thou shalt obtain 6 Chinese coins. Five shall be of one metal and the sixth of another. One side ye shall call Yang, and the other Yin (Heads and Tails).

2. These coins should be kept in a wrapped black cloth, and no other should lay his hand upon them. For they swell with thine aura when used with sincerity and repetition.

3. Hast no coins? Six sticks will serve. Paint one side solid and the other broken. One of the six is especial; It should be made unique by painting one end on both sides. Care for thine sticks as though they were coins.


4. When a situation ariseth in thy mind, and you wouldst seek an oracle, do thus: Go and take out thine coins or sticks.

5. Face thou East; and make clear thy mind, so that no thoughts shall intrude.

6. Call upon what god ye will; filling thyself with pure light, and raising thine mind to a fixed image of the situation into which you inquire.

7. Then, gently toss thy sticks or coins toward the East; they whilst fall into a certain pattern which thou wilt arrange into an Hexagram – the unit of Divination of this book: Yi King.


8. An Hexagram is made up of six lines; each line being Yang or Yin. The especial stick or coin is called “The Moving Line.”

9. Each line of the Hexagram is numbered: The line nearest thyself is number One; whilst the farthest away is number Six.


10. Thou hast concentrated upon thy situation, and thine sticks have fallen thus:

Line 6 – YANG (a solid line)
Line 5 – YANG (a solid line)
Line 4 – Yang (a solid line)

Line 3 – YANG (a solid line)
Line 2 – YIN (a broken line)
Line 1 – YIN (a broken line)

( – The moving line is in line 2)

11. The Hexagram will look like this:


12. Take notice that the Hexagram is divided into two Trigrams: An upper Trigram and a lower Trigram.


13. Taking thine key, which is in this book: thou wilst find the upper Trigram along the top of the squares. Next, find the lower Trigram at the left of the chart.

14. Follow thee the Trigrams into the centre of the Key – Behold the number 33.

15. Then, thou shalt read the Thirty-third Hexagram in this Book: Yi King.

16. The first two lines refer to the Hexagram as a whole, shewing thee the direction of the matter.

17. Next, appeareth a six-line poem. The first line of this poem pertaineth to the line number One in the Hexagram. The last line of the poem is for number Six (the one farthest from thy-self).

18. The Moving Line (in this case number Two) is the specific line which pertains to thy situation: Thine answer from the TAO.

19. If thou dost not understand, and are bewildered by doubts and questions concerning the Forces of this Divination: Thou mayest read in “Magick” where the Master Therion hath made discourse upon the subject by his understanding of the TAO.


A.·.A.·. Publication in Class B

Next page: Book of Changes scriptures 1-8

Aleister Crowley’s Book of Changes is available thanks to sacred-texts.com.





Home   Tarot Reading   Meanings   Spreads   Decks   Artists   FAQ   About   Terms   Privacy     Facebook   Twitter   LinkedIn

Copyright © 2024 Tarotsmith. All rights reserved.